How many foods in this photo have gluten? They all do!
When you have celiac disease or gluten intolerance, it’s critical that you eat gluten-free foods. Some gluten-containing foods, such as the roll that holds your hot dog, are easy to spot. But gluten can also be lurking in other foods that you thought were safe. In addition to wheat, rye and barley, additives such as malt, dextrin and modified food starch often contain gluten.
Before you load up your plate this summer, be aware of these foods that may contain gluten:
- Hot dogs - Hot dogs, sausage and other processed meats may contain gluten under names like “modified food starch” or “natural flavors.”
- Pickles - Some pickles are made using malt vinegar, which comes from barley. If the ingredient list is not specific, choose a brand labeled gluten-free or check with the company to be safe.
- French fries - Potatoes and oil are gluten-free, but those fries may have been tossed into the same fryer as the breaded onions rings. Ask your server at a restaurant to be sure or, if you are using store-bought fries, be sure to check the bag carefully.
- Mustard - Although many brands of mustard don’t contain gluten ingredients, the vinegar used to make the mustard may be distilled from gluten-containing grains such as wheat. Companies are not required to divulge the source of the vinegar in condiments. So stick with brands that sport a gluten-free label to be sure.
If you’re hosting the barbecue and are planning on serving these foods, make sure you read labels carefully to look for hidden sources of gluten. When in doubt, look for a gluten-free brand or find a gluten-free alternative. If you’re heading to someone else’s home to enjoy a summer meal, it’s always best to bring along a dish that you know has been made with gluten-free ingredients so you can indulge without worry.
Copyright 2016 © Baldwin Publishing, Inc. All rights reserved.
Any duplication or distribution of the information contained herein is strictly prohibited.