There's a new law in Pennsylvania designed to ensure a safer ride for children.
All children must remain in a rear-facing car seat until they are 2 years old, or exceed the maximum height and weight limit. At that point, a forward-facing car seat is required until the child exceeds the height and weight limits. (Note: Do not place a child who is older than 2 in a forward-facing seat until he or she has reached the car seat manufacturer's maximum height and weight limits for a rear-facing seat.)
After children have outgrown their car seat, they are required to sit in a forward-facing booster seat until they are 4 feet, 9 inches tall.
PennDOT has various safely laws for motorists. Whether you live in Pennsylvania or are just passing through, it’s a good idea to familiarize yourself with the driving safety guidelines and fines for violations.