Nutrition - Can You Spot the Gluten at Your Barbecue?
How many foods in this photo have gluten? They all do!
When you have celiac disease or gluten intolerance, it’s critical that you eat gluten-free foods. Some gluten-containing foods, such as the roll that holds your hot dog, are easy to spot. But gluten can also be lurking in other foods that you thought were safe. In addition to wheat, rye and barley, additives such as malt, dextrin and modified food starch often contain gluten.
Before you load up your plate this summer, be aware of these foods that may contain gluten:
- Hot dogs - Hot dogs, sausage and other processed meats may contain gluten under names like “modified food starch” or “natural flavors.”
- Pickles - Some pickles are made using malt vinegar, which comes from barley. If the ingredient list is not specific, choose a brand labeled gluten-free or check with the company to be safe.